Frugal Computing Blog - 2024-07-16 - A new hard drive!

Hello world! I will be starting the blog section to the site as an experiment :D We'll see how long it lasts...

So anyway, due to getting a "new" system (that I have as of now, not yet written an article about!!! OMG!!) (Scratch that, the new system is here.) and also me just generally running out of hard disk space ONCE AGAIN *sigh*: I decided to get a new hard drive.

It will be a Seagate BarraCuda 8 TB (ST8000DM004) described here: (Outside link).

Why this drive? Well, honestly, it just had the absolute best price/gigabyte ratio! By far! I got it for around 140€. Other drives that size would have cost way more, over 200€. And that just ain't gonna do. And I need all the disk space I can get. There weren't any bigger drives in the BarraCuda line anyway (consumer grade drives) and I don't want to spend a premium on drives that are, larger yes, but aren't really even meant for my use cases (like NAS/Surveillance/Corporate datacenter drives...)
Will it be slow? Will the fact that it's SMR hinder me in any way? Well I dunno! I probably won't care, but who knows! It's a total mystery! We'll just have to see :o
It will be going to my main PC, aka System #1 and I'll take one of the older drives to stick in in the "new" upcoming system >:D hehe
Yeah, I'm running Windows 10 off of a mechanical hard drive and I'm fine with that. But... but... the internet tech bros told me that it will be a horrible experience?! How come?
Well, I guess there are some perks of being used to old, "slow", outdated storage technologies. It really is not that damn bad. That's like people saying you need a Ferrari to go to the grocery store with the kids xD

Ahh... 8 terabytes of sweet, sweet HDD goodness. That is so nice. Hopefully it arrives soon in the mail ^_^

-----

Click/tap here to go back to the blog index.

Click/tap here to go back to the main site index.